E-MiDAS Online & Assessments

MiDAS (Minibus Driver Awareness Scheme) is an award winning and nationally recognised assessment and training scheme for minibus drivers, which offers you all you need to meet your Health & Safety and legal responsibilities and is widely used across the UK. It is a membership-based scheme organised by The Community Transport Association (CTA) and designed to enhance driving standards and promote safer operation of minibuses.

The scheme is open to all ‘not for profit’ organisations to help their drivers be better prepared for todays’ driving conditions.

Drivers must be over the age of 21 and have held a full car license for over 2 years

Steps to Gaining your MiDAS Certificate:

Module One: Standard Certificate

Part 1 – Theory training and assessment.

Delivered via the CTA website.

90 minutes of interactive E-Learning, covering the legal responsibilities of drivers and the essential theoretical knowledge needed to provide safe, legal and comfortable journeys.

It includes:

  • A thorough knowledge of the legal responsibilities of a minibus driver and duty of care.
  • Department for Transport (DfT) codes of practice in safe carriage of passengers.
  • Good practice in passenger comfort.
  • Health and Safety at work for Drivers.
  • Reversing & Maneuvering of vehicles.
  • Defensive Driving techniques.
  • Emergencies and Contingency plans.

The E-learning includes a multiple-choice test consisting of 20 questions, the answers to which will be contained in the training session.

The pass mark of the theory test is 80%.

Part 2 – Practical training and assessments.

  • Conducted at your premises and in your vehicles OR at our base in London using our minibus.
  • This part of the course takes around 90 minutes per trainee.
  • Each candidate will undertake an on-road driving skills training and a driving assessment.
  • The assessment route takes into consideration a wide range of road conditions.

Module Two: Accessible Certificate

This module is for drivers transporting wheelchair users, who will require knowledge and experience of using passenger lifts and securing wheelchairs inside the minibus.

In addition to Parts 1 & 2 of the Standard Induction:

Part 1A – Theory training and assessment. 

  • Classroom session OR over Zoom Training.
  • Passenger safety
  • Working with disabled people
  • Passenger assistance
  • Safe use of passenger lifts and ramps
  • Wheelchair and passenger restraint equipment
  • Safety for passengers who use wheelchairs in minibuses
  •  Practical skills assessment briefing
  • Theory assessment – 10 additional questions​

This is in addition to Part 1 and Part 2 of the Standard Induction

Drivers who successfully complete the course and assessment will receive a nationally recognised certificate valid for 4 years.